A Year in Review

By: Hillary Schulman

This coming Sunday, I will be visiting Brandeis University, my alma mater, to see my college a capella group Manginah perform their 20th Annual Spring Show. This will be my first semester show attending as an alumna of Brandeis and of Manginah. It is hard to believe that a year has gone by, and last year at this time I was getting ready to perform in my last Manginah show as a member. A lot has happened in the past year, and reality has far surpassed my expectations of what this year would bring.

This time last year, I accepted a wonderful job offer at the Jewish Alliance, bought my first car, and was getting ready to graduate the university that had given so much to me in the past four years. I still remember my first day of college as if it were yesterday, and now those four years have passed. This time last year, I was prepping Manginah for our last show of the year.  I was also getting ready to say goodbye to Hillel, the niche in which I had been extremely active the past four years. This included saying goodbye to the part-time job I held at Hillel for the past three and a half years.  The library and I were becoming good friends at this point last year, as I was determined to graduate on time with good grades to make up for the time I didn’t study freshman year and during my time abroad. This time last year, my father and I were getting ready to take the last major road trip, in the car that I had just bought (from him), from my native Florida to Providence, my new home, so I could start my apartment search.

Well, now it’s been almost a year. I graduated Brandeis and have realized that those Buzzfeeds about college grads and early twenty-somethings are indeed true. I adopted an adorable kitten even though she destroys everything in my apartment. I spend way too much time watching Netflix, but it’s just a better option than going to a club. I have learned to appreciate the wonderfulness that is sweatpants and wear them while I am binge-watching television shows on Netflix – this is glorious. I have also learned to appreciate getting a good night’s sleep, so 10:30 has become my new bedtime. My recipe book is now full of healthy food options, and I actually enjoy cooking them. It is so much better than buying a lifetime supply of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. And no matter how normal I know it is, it still weirds me out when I see my friends getting engaged, married, and having children.  Life is funny that way. Ferris Bueller said it best – “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

I invite you to stop and look around with me (too cheesy?). Come to SermonSlam on April 10 at 7pm at The Salon and introduce yourself to me. You’ll know me because I’ll be the crazy red-head dancing up a storm and beatboxing with Pastrami on RI.

Leave a Reply

