Nikki’s Kitchen: Father’s Day

By: Nikki Hamburger

So I was thinking about Father’s Day this month and wanted to make something special for my hubby for Father’s Day. I started thinking about some of the times my family and I enjoyed the most. We used to enjoy eating waffles, strawberries, and whipped cream on a lot of Sundays. I thought, “What a perfect way to celebrate Father’s Day.” I have to tell you this recipe is courtesy of Betty Crocker, but I have never had a better waffle.

Crisp Waffles

2 eggs

1 3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup butter or margarine, melted or vegetable oil

2 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

 

Heat waffle iron. Melt Butter. Beat eggs with hand beater until fluffy;

DSC_0160

DSC_0161

 

 

DSC_0162

beat in remaining ingredients just until smooth.

DSC_0164

 

Pour batter from cup or pitcher onto center of hot waffle iron. Bake until steaming stops, about 5 minutes. Remove waffles carefully. Makes 3 10″-waffles. (I usually double the recipe.)

DSC_0165DSC_0166

 

 

 

 
I serve these with cool whip and sliced strawberries with a bit of sugar. (The strawberries with sugar make a nice little syrup.) I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I always have.

DSC_0167

Leave a Reply

